Now I lay me down to sleep

It’s been a long day, and here I am at the end of it – alone.

There were many years of my life I wished for the right “him” to be with as I ended my day.  I thought to be complete I needed a husband or at least a lover.  That to be alone meant that I had somehow failed.  And as a result of that conception caused myself and my children untold grief.  Tonight when I crawl into that double bed I’ll sprawl all over it, pull the covers where ever I want them.  Turn my television to what ever channel I want it – as loud as I want it.  Sleep with it on maybe.  I won’t worry that I might snore, or God forbid drool.  I may entertain my mothers favorite pass time and pass gas under the covers.  I may even consider how farting became a competition sport in Texas.  But tonight I won’t miss my late husband.  (he’s not dead – just left one day and didn’t come home.)  

I’ll thank God for another day above ground and the ability to see the good part of coming home….alone.   

10 Responses to Now I lay me down to sleep

  1. The Bastard says:

    “I’ll thank God for another day above ground and the ability to see the good part of coming home….alone.

    Amen.

  2. jcoftw says:

    God knows what I’m talking about and he knows when I’m done. I’m usually snoring, drooling etc by then

  3. The Bastard says:

    “and I thank you for giving me a ride……………or should I say lift…………………….hehehe”

    LOL!!!

  4. jcoftw says:

    get your mind out of the gutter boy – I’ve been good…for now anyhow!

  5. bofhjr716 says:

    I think that aside for the breif periods in our live,…..when we are dumbasses and get married and have kids,…….our family is ment to be alone…..maritaly at least

  6. jcoftw says:

    Do you think that could possibly be because we’re terrified of becoming your grandparents? Definately so for me.

  7. The Bastard says:

    Well, I’d say Sis is the notible exception to that rule. She has found the right person to be with.

  8. jcoftw says:

    And isn’t he just the greatest? Y’all did see the new Corvette he bought me – right?

  9. jcoftw says:

    And my sister. She seems to have a “stick to it” attitude that our brother and myself don’t seem to have.

  10. bofhjr716 says:

    That’s cause the bananna pudding on your plate looks better than mine!!!

Leave a Reply

