Did you know?

Today my daughter and I were talking about blogging. She said we aren't big on expressing ourselves, but when we write the depth of our emotions come out. For a minute I was taken aback. But it is true. We always say I love you, but the real feeling gets lost somewhere.  We can talk about anything, but do I ever sit and say…..you are so important to me and this is why.

I am ashamed to admit the last time I REALLY did this was about 15 years ago at Christmas time.  I had cards made for each of the kids and wrote to them individually why they were the most important people in the world to me.

I don't know if you kids remember those cards or what I said, but this really sums it up:

  • I love you because you are my beautiful miracles
  • I love you each because you are unique and wonderful
  • I am in awe of the wonderful gift of your precious life, a gift I never deserved.
  • Mark, my firstborn who taught me unconditional love for another human being.
  • Gina, my beautiful, sweet, loving daughter with a huge forgiving heart.
  • Adam, my youngest who has brought incredible joy and laughter into my life.

There will never be another you.  There will never be another person who touches the place where only you reside.  If I never draw another breath, I will consider myself the luckiest person who ever lived…….because you belong to me.

10 Responses to Did you know?

  1. bofh69 says:

    Yep! Sorry about your luck! ๐Ÿ™‚ Love you too momma!

  2. jcoftw says:

    Oh how you talk. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. bofhjr716 says:

    I love you too mom, You loved me enough to be honest with me…even though I know it hurt, you have loved me when I was in so bad a shape I couldn’t love myself, and been the easiest person to talk too in all my life. And most of all I love you in spite of our past, and family history (trdition also) of purposly rubbing folks the wrong way…..just to see what thier reaction would be!!! ๐Ÿ˜›

  4. bofh69 says:

    Hey now! I don’t rub people the wrong way….um, well…I try not to rub people the wrong way…much…um, not too much…..oh, fuck it! Yes, I admit it! I rub people the wrong way to see what their reaction is going to be. Thanks you little peckerhead; the secret is out now.

  5. happychick says:

    I can not honestly say I have ever told someone “I love you” without expecting something in return.
    Lonnie- I knew, when I first read her blog that Sandra really was a “kindred spirit” as they say, and I am priveledged to be allowed to “bask in her glow” hehe.
    xx chick

  6. jcoftw says:

    Bask in my glow……? Thanks so much, but I think you may be catching fallout. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. charline (shotsie) says:

    I have to agree with all of you “Sandra, mom, and Mz Lee as many know her … has been a blessing to my husband and I and many close to us ..for us ten years in one way or another. And recently I have been really blessed to be in touch with you (her) on a very different level and I so look forward to growing and being willing to learn from your experience, strength and hope in a lot of different areas!! She helped me in the beginnig to save my ass and now she helps to save my soul…God love her!! or Gotta love her!!! I wish my mother was half the mother with the guidence and compasion she gives and I bet with a firm hand when the time was or is needed!!
    Luv ya
    P.S. thanks for letting me be a part of your Blog……

  8. jcoftw says:

    You are always welcome Char. Our literature says : No matter how far down the scale we have gone we will see how our experience can benefit others. I’m always willing to be there for you.

  9. gina says:

    Fifteen years ago I read your words through a child’s eyes – even though I was 21. Now, my own precious daughter, who is almost fourteen – a young woman in her own right – brings me the same intense love and pride. I love you so much Mom. My heart has grown older and closer to you with each year – and I finally understand so much.

  10. the forester says:

    What a touching, direct post — exactly what our kids need to hear. I know this wasn’t meant for my ears, but a public declaration of love is a wonderful thing, so thank you for inviting me to read, and for modeling good parenting for me. I think now that I’m a new parent (my son is 11 months old) I can appreciate a bit of the depth and sincerity here, because this is the second time I’ve read this, and again it made my eyes misty! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

