My other kids…..

I went back to work today after 4 glorious days off with family and friends.  I love my job, so this was not a bad thing.  We were getting ready for shift change….I was standing at the bottom of the stair way.  The school is in back of the main building and here they came, 40 kids taking a break from school.  Very quitely they came into the house.  The eyes of a few of them sparkled.  Out of line they came, one at a time, with a hug and a smile, and told me “I’m glad you’re back, can I talk to you later?”  “Of course, I tell them.”  How could I say anything else.  As quickly as they appeared, they turned, lined up on the hall with the rest.  And so began my day.

I vividly remember the day in 1984 when I had a chat with God.  I told him it was ok if he needed to take me.  But if not, I’d do my best to do whatever he wanted me to do.  I never had a clue that it would turn out like this.

In a supervisory capacity I work for TYC.  With my boys HE is the boss!  I’m so very blessed. 

9 Responses to My other kids…..

  1. Sandra says:

    Now aren’t you just the sweetest thing?

  2. Sandra says:

    For Happychick, TYC is the Texas Youth Commission. I have 48 juvenile delinquent boys (other than my own) from 14-18 years old. Every one of them have committed a crime which landed them in the care, custody and control of the state. Every one of them have an alcohol/drug problem as my facility is a drug rehab. I am their Abuela, which is Spanish for “Grandma”. Some kid about 11 years ago started calling me that and it has been so ever since. However occasionally one will stray from that and call me Momma.

  3. happychick says:

    Wow. I never understood the “ive raised 1000 and something kids thing- that’s awesome. You give up your time to help these kids who’ve gotten themselves into a right mess- when others just branded them “delinquents”. You are truly an angel in disguise. xx

  4. jcoftw says:

    How sweet, thank you. However, I can be the very diablo (devil)….just ask any of them.

  5. bofh69 says:

    Trust me, she can be a bitch when required.

  6. happychick says:

    It’s a woman’s perogative…. and everyone can be a bitch- required or not. xx

  7. susan h. says:

    I am always telling our 48 boys at TYC that this is a God given opportunity to be at our facility…I need to remember it is a daily opportunity He has given me as well….and having Sandra as my boss is icing on the cake….It is great to work with someone as sick as I!!

  8. jcoftw says:

    Amen, Sister! twisted woman!! 😀

Leave a Reply

