Beautiful feet mission

April 13, 2006

 maria d christo.jpg 

Today the boys and I went to the homeless shelter.  The intent was to feed the homeless and do a little work around the place.  I met them there, so I walked into the shelter alone.  At the table sat a woman.  She was praying/preaching/praising loudly her love for Jesus.  On and on she went.  I found a couple of the kids, but still her words came to me.  I heard her say "oh God help our young people to know that they are valuable…that they are never worthless."  Finally she stopped.

I walked over to her and told her I had taken a picture of her and did she mind.  "Of course not" she said.  I see the wildness in her one good eye.  I introduced myself to her. 

This is part of her story…..

My birth name is Tammy Louanne P…., the name God gave me is Maria De Christo.  I prayed to God and asked to walk in the footsteps of Jesus.  It's hard walking His path.  I've been homeless for 6 years.  I've been coming in and out of this mission for all that time.  I had my eye shot out by a bunch of teenage gangsters looking for a good time.  I have 5 daughters and a son.  I was convicted of child molestation because of what my husband did.  I have been persecuted for my beliefs.  It's hard being a homeless woman….no one wants to talk to me.  I should have known you were coming today…I smelled roses when I was walking here.  The Blessed Virgin sent you for me.  They tell me here I should not pray the Rosary, but can you come outside and pray it with me?

Outside on a bench, under the trees, she took the handmade rosary from around her neck.  Our hands together on her beads we prayed.

We walked back into the shelter, this schizoprenic woman and I.  She told me how she could feel this tremendous energy from me and how much she had needed it.

Dear Tammy/Maria De Christo to you I say, "I was hungry and you fed me…………….."


You’ll notice…….

April 13, 2006

A new name on the blogroll…..can't wait for her to WRITE something. Waiting patiently is not one of my virtues. My g/friend Donna 😀