Beautiful feet mission

 maria d christo.jpg 

Today the boys and I went to the homeless shelter.  The intent was to feed the homeless and do a little work around the place.  I met them there, so I walked into the shelter alone.  At the table sat a woman.  She was praying/preaching/praising loudly her love for Jesus.  On and on she went.  I found a couple of the kids, but still her words came to me.  I heard her say "oh God help our young people to know that they are valuable…that they are never worthless."  Finally she stopped.

I walked over to her and told her I had taken a picture of her and did she mind.  "Of course not" she said.  I see the wildness in her one good eye.  I introduced myself to her. 

This is part of her story…..

My birth name is Tammy Louanne P…., the name God gave me is Maria De Christo.  I prayed to God and asked to walk in the footsteps of Jesus.  It's hard walking His path.  I've been homeless for 6 years.  I've been coming in and out of this mission for all that time.  I had my eye shot out by a bunch of teenage gangsters looking for a good time.  I have 5 daughters and a son.  I was convicted of child molestation because of what my husband did.  I have been persecuted for my beliefs.  It's hard being a homeless woman….no one wants to talk to me.  I should have known you were coming today…I smelled roses when I was walking here.  The Blessed Virgin sent you for me.  They tell me here I should not pray the Rosary, but can you come outside and pray it with me?

Outside on a bench, under the trees, she took the handmade rosary from around her neck.  Our hands together on her beads we prayed.

We walked back into the shelter, this schizoprenic woman and I.  She told me how she could feel this tremendous energy from me and how much she had needed it.

Dear Tammy/Maria De Christo to you I say, "I was hungry and you fed me…………….."

5 Responses to Beautiful feet mission

  1. charline (shotsie) says:

    OMG- God is good…I would like to take a minute to share how I came to read this so early morning. Because Rick is working only a half a day and I have so much I want to do I am up early this morning and after praying I decided to check my email before I walk or meditate which is not the normal routine. I saw an update from you and was not allowed to open the page and that didn’t make me too happy but I didn’t give up I tried another way and here I am. But before I finish let me back up to last night. I went to Church last night and for the first time I shared in the Washing of the Feet, the Communion, the Stripping of the Alter, the Incense, and beautiful Praise. (I am praying to go to the noon service today if I get a way) It was awesome and so moving and has added to my hunger…well I was trying to share that with Rick last night right before we went to sleep. I am ashamed to say he had to correct me on some stuff as he remembered from his past and that is OK because I am so hungry. But then I fell asleep and had this beautiful dream of the “Church Service in it’s entire detail and was sharing it with him exactly like it happened and I woke many times to go right back to the dream that seemed to last all night. So as you can imagine I had a beautiful smile on my face when I woke up and then to start my day off with such a AWESOME story and to see how God work’s in your life Sandra is such a blessing to me. I started crying tears and the emotion of the story was so strong as I am sure it was to you and Tammy as well. want to thank you for letting me be a part of this blog and to enjoy the experiences all of you share. I was told many years ago to run with the winners and today I have a new set of people I chose to follow in their footsteps and it is such a blessing….I pray that it will not take me long to be able to handle situations like you came across at the shelter with Tammy yesterday that I to can earn my seat in Heaven just as Lonnie has said you are doing… Thanks so much Sandra— God is great and so gracious!

  2. happychick says:

    Can you imagine how many people must have judged this woman in the past? How many people must have looked down on her like scum, but you, Sandra, you took a few moments out of your day to talk to this woman, to actually talk- and now she has faith in the God sh e prays to so often, that angels really do exist. xxchick

  3. Sandra says:

    You guys are sweet….it is I who was blessed.

  4. the blonde says:

    That, my dear mother-in-law was a very touching story and brought a tear (or two) to my eye. I hope we will meet soon, for I too would like to know the love that you have to give so many people.
    Enough of the mushy stuff, God Damn it, hurry up and get your ass up here to visit us. I would like to meet my mother-in-law before I kick the damn bucket!! 🙂
    Love ya lots Mom

  5. Mom says:

    Kickin bucket is not allowed my dear daughter. We still have a couple of generations older than you. 😀

Leave a Reply

