I was a sceptic, but………..

There is a principle which is a bar against all information,
which is proof against all arguments and which cannot fail to keep a man
in everlasting ignorance – that principle is contempt prior to investigation.

 

HERBERT SPENCER

I never believed this quote applied to me.  I read it many times in the basic text of Alcoholics Anonymous over the last 21 years.  It is in an appendix regarding Spiritual Experience.

Now I’ve always believed in God.  How could I not?  My Daddy was a deacon in the Baptist Church. When I was little we attended church every time the doors were open.  We had “cottage prayer meetings” in our home.There were a few thousand “must-not do” items in our household.  One of them was to NEVER hang around Catholics.  It was like a dreaded disease. 

Some of the things I associated with the Catholics:

  •  A group of barely Christianized pagans
  •  They worship the Virgin Mary
  •  They pray to statues
  •  They can’t read, or even own, the Bible
  •  They can’t pray to God – they have to go to the priest
  •  On and on ad nauseam

I went to a mass one time with the father of my two oldest children.  He really liked it, but my mind was closed I would not go back.  Then………….

A couple of years ago this group of Catholics came into my life via my job.  First was a case manager, Rosie.  She started praying the Rosary with the boys.  Then one of the AA volunteers, Raymond, found our priest at his Church.  This one was a barely ordained, been there – done that, kind of guy, Fr. Richard (the one Gina dubbed, "another one of Mom's adopted kids").  Then came Lonnie and Linda who taught the sacrament class.  Lonnie taught the kids to play guitar and generally spoils all of us rotten.  He’s the greatest!

In the last two years I have found that Catholics are 100% Christian.  Everything I believed to be true, was false.  I have found something that I always knew was missing. 

Today I am here to say I am so glad they found me.  I am a Proud Catholic Warrior!

4 Responses to I was a sceptic, but………..

  1. Sandra says:

    You can drip on my blog any time you want, dear! 😀

  2. charline (shotsie) says:

    I really enjoyed starting my day off reading this. Sandra I am so glad that you have walked this journey before me so that I have someone to hold my hand and get me going on my journey for the hunger I have! I am so glad that you were able to clear up the misconceptions I also had of the Catholic Church. See my mom was raised in a Catholic Church and I would never accept her faith for the very reasons you mentioned and if I could remember probably more….not even mentioning her actions and attitude…
    Luv Ya

  3. jcoftw says:

    I agree, Lonnie about the priest scandal, I personally know a Baptist deacon…….

Leave a Reply

