Relay for life

Tonight (if it doesn't rain us out) I will walk the "survivors lap" in the Relay for life.  As I walk around the field I will say a prayer for the souls of the people who are no longer with me.  My dearest friends Connie Mooneyham and Charles Allen.  Both died with glioblastoma multiform – brain cancer. I miss them so much. From the day they were diagnosed, until the day they died, only six months passed. 

For me 22 years have passed, and I wonder why I was chosen to stay and they were not.

8 Responses to Relay for life

  1. bofh69 says:

    Because you are too damned mean. God probably said “let that bitch chill out before you bring her up here”. 😀

    All kidding aside, I am VERY, VERY happy you are still with us. I love you!

  2. Elaine says:

    As my grandson said when he was about four, “Don’t look at a horse’s teeth if it’s a gift.”

    You were “gifted” a chance to really appreciate life, and plenty of time to do something about it. I think you’re doing a great job of it! Most of us take our existance for granted until it’s too late.

    At any rate, there are a lot of us who are grateful that you’ve had the chance.

  3. Elaine says:

    To clarify, the statement above was a four-year-old’s version, of “Don’t look a gift horse in the mouth”. If your not from Texas, you probably don’t have a clue what the heck that means either.

  4. bofhjr716 says:

    God was afraid to bring you up…. he said ” Bring that bitch up here, and she’ll be runnin shit in a month”

  5. Hell Boy says:

    Lord did the right thing, it’s great yo’re still there! & about the horse & teeth, yo dont have to live in texas to understand that, yo’re insultin others intelligence 🙂

  6. Sandra says:

    We say lots of stuff that other people don’t understand. Like today it was raining like a cow pissin on a flat rock. 😀

  7. happychick says:

    mmmmm…. I read these comments 5 minutes ago and I still don’t understand the horse teeth thing, so ha Hellboy. It’s always a terrible tradgedy when others die, but dwell on the good times and all the stupid things they said, rather than why you’re still with us- which I think is quite obvious- how would this lot vent their energy if they werent busting on you, huh? Yeah… thats right- they wouldn’t.

  8. Hell Boy says:

    ok happy chick, i apologize!
    rainin like a cow pissin on a flat rock?!?! can use it for snow & bears?!

Leave a Reply

