Tuesdays word of the day

Pathological

  1. Of or relating to pathology.
  2. Relating to or caused by disease.
  3. Of, relating to, or manifesting behavior that is habitual, maladaptive, and compulsive: a pathological liar.

This word of the day is a result of some comments on The Bastards post about the Importance Of Blogging.

So I will start with a definition of alcoholism that I was taught when I was studing for my certification for becoming a licensed chemical dependency counselor.

Alcoholism is the continued pathological use of beverage alcohol despite adverse consequences on any area of a persons life.  Same goes for drug addiction.

The illness is characterized by denialSimple denial says:  I don't have a problem; rationalization says: I do better work when I'm drinking; intellectualization says: I'm too smart to be alcoholic; blaming, (and this is one of my favorites) says: anybody that puts up with your sorry ass would deserve to drink; minimizing says: yeah I drink, but I can quit anytime I want to.  Denial is a thinking error.  It is an excuse that makes the behavior ok in the users mind.

The pathology of addiction is pretty simple.  For any chemical to be addictive there has to be a like chemical that the brain produces.  When the chemical goes into the system, the brain stops production.  When the chemical is withdrawn, the brain doesn't immediately start producing again…resulting in the dreaded withdrawal.  Many people say they "can't" quit for this reason alone.

But the real problem centers in the mind, not the body.  A person can be physically addicted and not be the kind of alcoholic we see in the USA.  The people we see every day in alcoholics anonymous are gamma alcoholics.  This type of alcoholism is characterized by the loss of control.  This loss of countrol is when a person can not consistently predict the amount of alcohol they will consume or their behavior when they consume it.  So the alcoholic will usually try every means to prove they really DON'T have a problem.

Normal drinkers….yes I've known quite a few.  They are the people that have a bottle of liquor in their cabinet for months on end and never tap into it.  They leave 4 inches of beer in the pitcher that they ordered with pizza, pay their tab and walk away.  Or open one beer and pour out half of it, because they have "had enough".  And I guess that about sums it up. One is too many and a thousand is never enough for someone like ME.

A normal person is someone to whom I would say:  Get the hell away from me you goofy fuck!

7 Responses to Tuesdays word of the day

  1. bofhjr716 says:

    A normal person is someone to whom I would say: Get the hell away from me you goofy fuck!

    Normal? what is this normal you speak of?

  2. jcoftw says:

    No Habla “normal”. Would not recognize it!

  3. bofh69 says:

    Good post Mom. No habla “normal” either.

  4. bofh69 says:

    You forgot to cover functional alcoholics Mom.

  5. donna says:

    hahahahahahahahahahahahaha

  6. jcoftw says:

    That is a post for the Bastard to cover as I know nothing from personal experience about being functional as an alcoholic.

  7. Sangita B. says:

    thanks for the information its very helpful
    check my alcoholism related site http://alcoholism.20m.com

Leave a Reply

