What’s in a name………..

Most people I know hate one of their names.  Usually because the only time it was ever used by our parents is when they were royally pissed.

But what about the way a child says (or in this instance types) your name?  I was on an im with my son, The Bastard, and he was talking about The Blonde listening to "Kern River" and he's gacking.  Now that sounds as logical to be a persons name as "River Phoenix" right?  So I ask him "who is Kern River?"  And he responds "Merle Haggard mother (aka dumbshit) the song….si habla?"  Just the way he did the "mother" I could hear sarcasm dripping.  (I love Merle).

How do I discern that, you ask?  Well, rarely do my kids call me mother, for one.  It's usually "mom" or "momma".  When they say "mother" I know I am about to be busted on.  Or if they are about to "explain" something to me in terms even a first grader can understand. 

I, for one, am quite proud of my childrens sarcastic sense of humor.  As well I should be because it has traveled in our blood through my Dad, to me and my siblings, to our children…… Why do you think they call us THE BASTARD CLAN?

8 Responses to What’s in a name………..

  1. bofh69 says:

    YOU GOT IT!!!! 😀

  2. Mom says:

    I also read minds on other things! 😀

  3. susan h. says:

    i like my name : susan kae ~ people tend to think of me being nice & sweet…works everytime!
    but at work i am known as : ms.hobson ~ now that’s a different story!

  4. gina says:

    You forgot to mention “MA”. Boy did you hate me calling you that when I was growing up!

    I love my name. I love that you loved your father so much that you would give me his name. Getting a tattoo of my name was a way of honoring that.

  5. Mom says:

    OMG!! That is the one thing I would yell at you for. DON’T CALL ME “MA”. And you would continue to do it when you wanted to push my buttons. 😀

    Yes, Daddy was my hero and I could not think of a better way to let him know, than to name my baby girl after him. 😀

  6. Sandra says:

    HEY WOLF DADDY! 😀

  7. susan hobson says:

    when my kids were younger and wanted something i was know as ” MOMMA”
    then we they got older i was known as “MOTHER” aka: ” bitch”

  8. Sandra says:

    Surely not YOU!?! We make a pretty good pair of bitches when we need to, huh?

Leave a Reply

