Happy Sunday

St Francis Prayer:

Lord, make me an instrument of your peace:

Where there is hatred let me sow love;

where there is injury, pardon;

where there is discord, harmony;

where there is error, truth;

where there is doubt, faith;

where there is dispair, hope;

where there is darkness, light'

where there is sadness, joy.

Divine master,

grant that I may not so much seek 

to be consoled as to console;

to be understood, as to understand;

to be loved, as to love.

For it is in giving that we receive;

it is in forgetting self that we find ourselves;

it is in pardoning that we are pardoned;

and it is in dying that we are born to eternal life. 

Twenty one years ago, when I started my road to recovery, this was a daily reading assignment.  It started a change in me that I am so grateful for.  I do my best each day to practice this…especially at work.  Sometimes I do good, sometimes I fail miserably……

4 Responses to Happy Sunday

  1. bofh69 says:

    Well you ain’t killed that bitch living in your house yet, so I’d say you are doing pretty good. 😀

  2. Hell Boy says:

    hhhmmm really educational but guess this part is missing
    …. where there is daylight, dark night
    to let all those poor creatures in northpole sleep better in summer days

  3. Mom says:

    And that is the area that I thought I needed work on. 😀 My tolerance level is soooo low that she’s lucky I haven’t beaten the crap outta her. But if I did that I’d have to clean it up. 😀

    “where there is daylight, dark night” for Keith. amen

  4. Mayang says:

    remember singing this particular prayer at Church way back my Catholic school girl yrs. now, can’t even remember the melody…

Leave a Reply

