Thought for the day….

Look into any man's heart you please, and you will always find, in every one, at least one black spot which he has to keep concealed. -Henrik Ibsen, playwright (1828-1906)

Obviously not a member of AA OR Catholic.

AA's text says the 'we simply do not recover until we tell someone ALL of our life story.' 

I have found that it is the things that I'm going to take to my grave with me are the things that bother me the most.  i.e. We are as sick as the secrets we keep.  I recommend telling those secrets to someone you can trust to keep a confidence.

I used to be arrogant enough to believe that my secrets were "different and unforgivable".  Yeah, right………

9 Responses to Thought for the day….

  1. susan h. says:

    very true……i have found out that if i still held onto something and not share it , that my addiction still has a big hold on me….not God…goes back to that saying in the AA book about “half measures availed us nothing”….i know i sleep better at night with serenity on my side NOT the black cloud!

  2. Mayang says:

    this is really a thought to ponder on but what you said is what really made me stop and think. i’ve kept secrets, even to the people who were closest to me that’s why i always say nobody really knows the ‘real ME’. maybe you’re right we all think the secrets we keep are worse than anybody’s ’til you tell it to someone who does same in return…

  3. Elaine says:

    I’m not much into this confession stuff (probably has something to do with getting my butt beat as a child) Seems like it puts way too much power in other hands. Today’s trusted friend can be tomorrow’s enemy. If you must confess, at the very least do it to someone who’s secrets you know, and hopefully they are worse.

  4. bofh69 says:

    Ahhh, Elaine, you aren’t a Kenley, are you? Ever the cynic. Well, you come by it natural enough, for damned sure! I share the same affliction.

  5. Mr Angry says:

    I’m not always sure we are the best judge of which of our secrets are truly “dark” I’ve told people what I thought were deep, dark secrets and it hasn’t bothered them at all. Other times I’ve said something casually that didn’t seem so big to me and it’s made people want to call the cops on me.

    I don’t understand other people’s priorities. Honestly, I only kept him chained up for a week and he was a friggin’ insurance salesman y’know.

  6. jcoftw says:

    I’m with you Mr. Angry! 😀

  7. johnny boats says:

    i’ve heard a few deep dark secrets. its real nice to help people come to terms with behaviors or actions they have committed against others and themselves.

    i like the freedom that i live with today. those damn secrets woz wearin’ me out. not having those secrets have allowed me to change my behaviors. i have had hangups associated with those secrets that never allowed be to be who i am. i just glad i found someone that i could talk to.

    i heard on the news recently about some aa’er who tried to make amends to a woman who he raped 20 years ago at a frat party. he contacted her by email and then called her. she notified the police ( for the second time…she did it 20 years ago and noone in authority believed her “police,hosp and college”) and he was arrested and will shortly be doing time. There is no time limit associated with statutory rape.

    johnny boats

  8. the forester says:

    Great post! Have you been reading The Scarlet Letter recently? One of my favorite books (hey, I’m an English teacher), particularly as it packs this thematic punch near the end:

    Be true! Be true! Be true! Show freely to the world, if not your worst, yet some trait whereby the worst may be inferred.

    I made use of this quote in a little speech I made at a National Honor Society induction ceremony. It’s not a terribly speechy speech — basically two anecdotes about myself, and what I learned from them. If you’re interested, you can find it here: A Fresh Integrity. Just a little nod to the fact that, as you say, we’ve all got our dark spots.

  9. jcoftw says:

    I had an English teacher in high school that encouraged me to write. If anyone would like to kill her, sorry bout your luck….I don’t even remember her name. I just remember that she said I had talent. I don’t think she intended that to be used in blogging, but I can’t hold thoughts together long enough to do anything else with them. 😀

Leave a Reply

