Beef Enchilada Casserole

There has to be some Mexican blood running through my veins.  I love Mexican food.  Tonight I fixed one of my all time favorites – beef enchilada casserole.  This is something I made a lot when I had 5 kids at home and 4 of them were teenagers.  It went a long way toward filling up their hollow legs and it is YUMMY!

Recipe:

brown 1 pound ground beef, 1/2 diced onion and 1/2 bell pepper in skillet.  Drain and add:

1 can refried beans;1 can cream of mushroom soup and 1 can enchilada sauce.  Cook over medium heat until warm.

In 9 X 11 pan layer the following:

corn chips, meat mixture, shredded cheddar cheese.  You should have enough of the meat mixture for two layers.  I love cheese so I make a heavy topping.  8 – 10 ounces of shredded cheese should be enough. 

Cook in preheated 350 degree oven for 20-30 minutes.  Cheese will be bubbly and brown.  OMG it is good!

Tonight I served this with Spanish Rice and my homemade Pico.  Fresh green salad is best, but wtf.

3 Responses to Beef Enchilada Casserole

  1. 1steak says:

    mmm mmmm mmmm
    that sounds good!
    you know I’m gonna be trying that one. i had texas style bar-b- que pork chops last week. i couldn’t stop thinking about ya’ll in texas. it was goooo—-oooood.

    bye the bye what is pico (pica) (sp)
    north of connecticut
    Jboats

  2. Sandra says:

    I will try to remember to make that my next post John. It is some GOOD stuff. 😀 It’s like picante sause only the ingredients are raw. mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

  3. Sandra says:

    Also the casserole topped with sour cream is scrumptious and just adds a gillion calories.

Leave a Reply

