Pico de guillo

My friend and adopted John Patrick is originally from England and currently a yank residing in the tiniest state of Rhode Island.  We used to have the conversations about food alot!  He always said that southerners had the greatest snax.  He is now about to try the REAL food ie beef enchilada casserole.  A must for the casserole is pico de guillo a hot relish that is wonderful on everything except desert.

Recipe for pico.  Pronounced peeko de guyo 😀

4 jalapino peppers

1 medium onion

1 clove garlic

4 red Roma tomatoes

1/4 cup fresh cilantro

juice of one lime

1 t. salt

I use the food processor to dice all the veggies ending with the salt and lime (remind you of margaritas?)  Cover and let rest in refrigerator over night.  You CAN eat it right away, but it is best the next day after all the flavors have blended.

For guacamole lovers – mash an alvocado and add pico and you’ve got it.  Great served with salad or as a dip.

For those who don’t have a clue what cilantro is – it shall be my word of the day.  I love this little veggie.  My kids believe I always overdo it, but I have this theory….If I prep the meal they have two options take it or leave it.

cilantro

n 1: Old World herb with aromatic leaves and seed resembling parsley [syn: coriander, coriander plant, Chinese parsley, Coriandrum sativum] 2: parsley-like herb used as seasoning or garnish [syn: coriander, Chinese parsley]

I always find this veggie next to the parsley.  It is easily distinguished by the smell….it’s wonderful.

14 Responses to Pico de guillo

  1. 1steak says:

    thank you for the receipe and answering my question “what is pico?”
    its funny that you mention where i’m from. i just posted a note on my blog that spoke to that subject. i titled “whipping my culture out can be fun.”
    north of connecticut,
    jboats

  2. The Bastard says:

    That is good shit! I have my whole family addicted to it. I would have never believed it, but these Oregonians can handle “Texas” spicy; especially my baby girl Sara.

  3. Mr Angry says:

    Hehehhe, just before reading this I made a video of one of my old pieces: no more green crap. In Aus we call Cilantro Coriander. I call it green crap. Although I’m sure it’s good in this recipe. 🙂

  4. Sandra says:

    My kids say I overdo it, but quite frankly I love the stuff!

  5. keith says:

    pepper?! omg you dont want to kill me do you?!

  6. Sandra says:

    keith it will clear out that stuffy nose.

  7. The Blonde says:

    It’ll kick your ass and you will still keep eating it. That’s some good shit.

  8. Sandra says:

    That is the truth Pauline! Eyes watering, nose running crammin the pico and chips down your throat. lol

  9. 1steak says:

    thats funny. i just saw mr angry’s video about green crap
    jboats

  10. Sandra says:

    Mr. Angry is funny. He is one of my daily must reads.

  11. susan hobson says:

    PLEASE MAKE SOME MORE FOR ME!!!!

  12. Tay says:

    I love pico. It rox my socks off. Yeehaw!

  13. Randy De says:

    Rudy’s Taco Place in waterloo, Iowa makes awesome peeko!! I order a “Sancho” and eat the peeko like salad. It’s oh so good………………….

  14. I wanted to draft you a very small remark to finally give thanks once again relating to the wonderful guidelines you have shared on this site. This has been really tremendously generous of people like you to convey freely all that a number of people could possibly have supplied as an electronic book to make some cash for themselves, chiefly given that you could possibly have tried it in case you wanted. These principles also served to provide a easy way to be sure that someone else have a similar desire just as my personal own to realize great deal more in regard to this problem. Certainly there are several more pleasurable opportunities up front for individuals that discover your blog post.

Leave a Reply

