All Souls Day

All Soul’s Day is a Roman Catholic day of remembrance for friends and loved ones who have passed away. This comes from the ancient Pagan Festival of the Dead, which celebrated the Pagan belief that the souls of the dead would return for a meal with the family. Candles in the window would guide the souls back home, and another place was set at the table. Children would come through the village, asking for food to be offered symbolically to the dead, then donated to feed the hungry.

Today and tomorrow my special memories are as always for my hero, my Dad.  Also my Grandmother, my cousin Jan, my best g/friend Connie, my dear friend Charles.  Also for all of my AA friends who took their lives because they could no longer live with their disease.

May they rest in peace.

9 Responses to All Souls Day

  1. debe says:

    What a timely post. I’m in an argument on my soapmaking forum about whether or not alcoholism is a disease. I don’t need them to agree with me, I KNOW it is!
    I think that’s a great celebration, I never knew the meaning behind All Soul’s Day. You can have Connie for lunch, we’ll take her for dinner, ok? (and all our other dear friends, too)

  2. Charline says:

    Ok I must invite myself to the lunch or dinner with all my dear friends that we share and bring a few of my own to be with all of you and our loved ones too.
    That information is a blessing to know. My sisters future mother in law passed in her sleep with cacer this morning, maybe this special day will be a blessing some time in the future. The chemo and all she was sooo suffering.

  3. Sandra says:

    Deb – Connie and I were always good for lunch….at Old South. 😀

    Don’t listen to those folks that would have you thinking that alcoholism is not a disease. Remember health insurance doesn’t pay for treatment of ‘sorry as hell.’

    Char – isnt’ this a great celebration. And the future m-i-l of your sister joined the souls on this special day. May she find eternal rest. My prayers are with your family.

  4. range says:

    Hello Sandra. Back again. Nice post. I’m still in Taiwan. My laptop is still broken, so I can’t use the internet connection that I have at home, but that situation will be resolved soon.

  5. Sandra says:

    HI RANGE! Fix it – I miss you!

  6. Mr Angry says:

    Nice way to personalise halloween Sandra 🙂 Now I have to convince my kids to donate their lollies to the needy! (I’m feeling needy)

  7. Sandra says:

    Dads are always needy when it comes to sweets. 😀

  8. hellboy says:

    hey so such a day exists, thought it’s all about eating chocolates, frightening kids & haunting soul.
    GBY for the reminder

  9. happychick says:

    Oh wow, I had no idea such a day existed. I think that those Pagans had a bloody good idea setting aside a day to remember those who have passed. Indeed, I know a few. 🙂

Leave a Reply

