Happy V.D. and other thoughts

Happy Veterans Day!  So many people that I know have given precious years of their lives to defend our country.  Thank you so much.  It is because of people like you that I live in freedom.  Words can never express what that means to me.  I cannot imagine what it would be like to live every day of my life in fear, with war raging around me.  Thanks to you I have lived to old age without having to know.

Today is the final Hurricane soccer game.  God I hope those kids end the season with a win.  No matter what, they will end it with fun.  We are going to have a party at Double Dave’s Pizza Parlor afterwards.  My adopted, Kathleen, helped the kids make a picture album.  All of the kids individually and as a team in their soccer uniforms.  Each kid has a page with their picture and something they wrote for their coaches.  They will present this to the coaches at the party.  Also two tickets to the Major League Soccer Championship game tomorrow.  And a soccer ball with all the kids signatures on it.  Soccer clinics begin in December to get our new team together.

Thought for the day:  Learning without thought is labor lost; thought without learning is perilous.  Confucius

UPDATE:

The kids won their final soccer game!  YEA, MCFADDEN HURRICANES!!!  7-2 final score.  It was perfect.  😀

10 Responses to Happy V.D. and other thoughts

  1. The Bastard says:

    “Thanks to you I have lived to old age ….”

    Boy, ain’t that an understatement! 😀

  2. Mom says:

    I think I may have just been insulted…..

    Or maybe I shall choose to believe that you are complimenting the vets.

  3. The Bastard says:

    Or maybe a bit of both. 😀

  4. The Bastard says:

    OUTSTANDING! Way to go boys!!!!

  5. happychick says:

    It’s called “Veteran’s Day”? Hahaha! That is way trippy- over here we have “Rememberance Day”, where everyone wears a poppy and does the whole “minute’s silence”… Alot of the hard-core beleivers (who are much more into it than I am, I am sad to say…) get up as the sun rises for a dawn service. You have these things too?

  6. Sandra says:

    We have all kinds of stuff. Yesterday Lonnie was the Master of Ceremonies for the big parade downtown. Over 150 bands and floats. Ending with the ceremony at 11am. You know 11th month, 11th day, 11th hour. It is pretty cool. I don’t know if we have sun rise services because I’m always sleeping then.

  7. hellboy says:

    congrats to the boys & momma sandra as well.
    you better drink some hot milk!

  8. Mr Angry says:

    I saw that heading and thought you were trying to cheer someone up who had contracted a venereal disease.

  9. debe says:

    Congrats to the McFadden Hurricanes

  10. Charline says:

    Way to end the season with a win!!! I know you were excited!

Leave a Reply

