Happy Thanksgiving and other thoughts for the day

Happy Thanksgiving to all!  Tomorrow starts the season when the Americans begin their holiday gorge which, eventually, concludes in an extra 8 pounds (average) weight gain.

I met a lady about 21 years ago.  I never liked her a lot, but my sponsor told me I had to listen at meetings.  She’d always say things like ‘if you stay sober 30 years like I have, you’ll get what I’ve got.’  I would think: ‘ don’t threaten ME lady.”  But since I DID listen to everything she said, I heard this……”The day I forget to be grateful, may just be the day I forget to be sober.”  Thank you Pew B. for that jewel of wisdom.  I’ll never forget that, and I passed it on to the kids at work tonight.

I am so thankful for my sobriety and my relationship to God as I understand him.  Behind that is a very long list of wonderful people.  But, without my sobriety, I would have none of them.  Without God I wouldn’t have my sobriety.

Susan let me read from her meditaiton book today.  It was great.  Todays reading was “Meditation for Bad Girls”.  YES – FINALLY a meditation just for me.

I don’t have the book in front of me but a couple of things that hung in my brain. 

Bad girls are in touch with the ‘bitch within’ because they run with dobermans in studded collars.

Bad girls rarely marry for love, that’s why their last name changes so often.

Bad girls may share their satin sheets, but they seldom share the depths of their soul.

Bad girls are loyal to a fault…..people have been seriously injured that broke her pals heart.

There were two pages, but that’s all I remember. 

I’m not a bad girl any more.  I haven’t changed my name in a very long time.  I don’t share satin sheets, I have shared my soul.  Well, maybe I am still bad, because I am in touch with……THE BITCH WITHIN!

13 Responses to Happy Thanksgiving and other thoughts for the day

  1. The Bastard says:

    You’re not a bad girl anymore?!?!? LOL! Sure Mom, sure. 😀

    Happy Thanksgiving! I love you. And be sure to give my love to the fam today.

  2. susan hobson says:

    happy turkey day too you!!…glad you got to be with family….also makes me happy to share my meditations with you…i could really relate to that one too!…love ya!

  3. Mr Angry says:

    And the studded collar is a good look too!

  4. Sandra says:

    I am appropriately stuffed. Had a wonderful day with the fam. I like the studded collar to Mr. Angry. 😀

  5. donna says:

    You are SUCH a BAD girl! Don’t let her fool ya!!!! :0

  6. hellboy says:

    well im wondering about the definition of bad boys, but honestly you better stop pretending to be nicer, you really look like bad girls, yes it’s written on your id!

  7. Sandra says:

    I give up – I’m BAD! 😀 And proud of it.

  8. 1steak says:

    you aint no bad girl
    jb

  9. Charline says:

    Sorry my response is a bit late, Sandra. Just a very busy time Rick had off until yesterday evening and I too wanted to be a very “bad” girl!! I hope everyrone had a great Turkey Day, we did. And I also want to say if more women could follow in your shoes what a wonderful place of “bad girls” we would have. Love ya

  10. donna says:

    Bad girl, I miss ya!
    Love,
    Donna

  11. Sandra says:

    Char- Great turkey day with the fam.

    Donna Leigh – miss you too g/friend.

  12. hellboy says:

    ok, i know you’re bad, but dont you wanna blog?

Leave a Reply

