Weather forecast

mix100.jpg The last weather forecast I gave for the area was back in the summer when the given was hot and dry followed by more hot and dry.

Today started out lovely.  High of 77 degrees.  T-shirt weather to be sure.  Last December we had high 80’s.  Assured that 80’s in December is a bit much, but you get the idea.  Texans are NOT used to cold weather.  We don’t know what to do.  We damn sure don’t know how to drive in ice expecially.  About 3am we are expected to get freezing rain and sleet.  Snow on top of ice tomorrow.

This is how the day before our once a year ice storm goes:

OMG did you hear the weather forecast – artic blast expected.

Check every weather forecast on television and the internet. 

Go to the grocery store and stock up on grocieries.  (It may last for months instead of only one day).

Get the car filled up with gas.  We may get caught out in bad weather and stuck there until spring thaw. (Which will actually come within 24 hours).

Call work and say: ‘you know bad weather is on the way?  Well I’m calling in ahead of time.  I DON’T DRIVE ON ICE!!!

Go to work today and work like a sugar mill jackass.  Get EVERYTHING caught up….I may not be back til spring.

Go to Mass – Pray that I’m off at least one day…..don’t let me wreck my new car.

When I leave work tonight it is raining, lightening and thunder.  No ice yet, 34 degrees.

I make it home just fine.  😀  Maybe I’ll check out some of the food I stored up on.

7 Responses to Weather forecast

  1. happychick says:

    Haha we do the same “stocking up” thing during cyclone season. The storm never actually hits, and here we are with all this tinned tuna that has to be eaten before the end of the month. 🙂

  2. Charline says:

    LOL!! Ditto….It started sleeting here a couple of hours ago but didn’t last long. Guess it is wait and see…and veg out if we get stuck in tomorrow!!

  3. Sandra says:

    Another wave coming through soon.

  4. The Bastard says:

    I remember those days all too well.

  5. hellboy says:

    send me the extra grocery stock up, im gonna send you fish in return, guess we gotta eat fish till next winter *~*
    and yihihihihih at texans, ice freaks!

  6. debe says:

    and then we don’t get so much as a delay in work
    I was all set for a snow day
    I feel cheated

  7. jcoftw says:

    Yeah – I had to go to work too. But you know what? That means I got overtime for the week. I love those checks!

Leave a Reply

