Happy New Year

New years eve was spent differently this year than most.  Birthday night at my AA group was last night.  I received my 22 year sobriety chip.  I am so grateful.

Afterwards to AA friends house for poker.  I took $20 in change and returned with at least half of it.  Very cheap entertainment for 5 hours and fellowship with great friends.  AND omg the best food ever.  This definately includes the traditional black eyed peas and cornbread.

Today I am still lounging in my jammies, and enjoying to the fullest my 3rd day off in a row.  I make it sound like I’m a slug, but I worked 11 days without a day off, including Christmas.  Making my own pot of blackeyed peas and cornbread, just to make sure we have our share of good luck this year.

And to really start the year off right, I’ve paid bills.  Everything is now current. 

To cigarette smokers in Texas, sorry about your luck!  State tax on a pack of cigarettes went up $1.00 today.  This is to help with the huge state deficit.  Please continue smoking, I need my paycheck not to bounce.

8 Responses to Happy New Year

  1. susan hobson says:

    HAPPY NEW YEARS TO YOU TOO!
    GLAD YOU HAD FUN LAST NIGHT…
    I AM AT WORK TODAY BUT I AM MAKING THE BEST OUT OF IT!!
    I AM GRATEFUL TO BE ABLE TO BE HERE AND NOT THROWN IN JAIL FROM THE NIGHT BEFORE!!
    ENJOY YOUR DAY OF R&R!
    CYA TOMORROW.
    HUGS!!!

  2. happychick says:

    Black Eyed Peas hahaha… I thought that was just a band… besides, do peas even have eyes?? Point is, Happy New Year Momma Lee, keep blogging as yours is one of the few I enjoy. :0 xx chick

  3. Keith says:

    Happy new year
    do you want the so many taxes collected here too? i bet it’s a lot more than what they have in texas 🙂

  4. debe says:

    I don’t get why the smokers have to pay? Why not tax Gatorade and make the athletes pay?
    I lounged around all day yesterday, too. Only went out to go through the drive-through at Braum’s and get a milkshake.
    Now I’m at work and it’s yucky

  5. Sandra says:

    Supposedly it is to help pay for smoking related illness. Adam said that it is illegal to pay for education with property tax and that is where the money is going. Actually I think the money is for the legislators and governor to give themselves a raise.

  6. Mayang says:

    Happy New Year Sandra!

    wishing you all the best this 2007!

    hugs! 😀

  7. jboats says:

    22 years of sobriety is amazing. to be able to have the fortitude and the courage to manage your illness continually for 22 years is a testimony to your work ethic, aa’s support and commitment to your self and your family.
    well done sandra beth,
    jf

  8. Charline says:

    Happy Birthday Sandra sorry I am late. I was so sick the day before New Yr’s eve and New Year’s day so I missed out on Birthday night (which I too was celebrating my 10 Yr) and we were going to the New Yrs. party we have gone for several yrs and it is always a blast :). I am glad you went I heard it was great with lots of food and fun for everyone! Now I am just hoping that is the end of me being sick and also missing out on all the fun!

Leave a Reply

