New office

For the first time in 20 years I have an office all to myself.  I am not sure if this is a good or bad thing.  I am the one that suggested the move, as I was sharing my office with 4 other people.  It was either move me or them and they need to be nearer all the action.  So my office is down on the south end of the building next door to my supervisor.  I started moving all my stuff last night.  This wouldn’t be bad, but first I had to clean out the office I’m moving into.  It had about 15 guitars, a keyboard, box after box of recycled eyeglasses that we’re working on for the lions club, kitchen supplies and boxes of duffle bags for the kids going on furlough and being released.  There was not even a trail, solid stuff wall to wall.  Thank God for kids, they helped me get it all moved.

I am still transitional – just waiting for my IT to come get my computer outlet working.  My old office is certainly not mine anymore.  All the pictures are down.  Everything that was ME is gone.  And when I looked at it one last time before I left, I thought – the next time I do this………it will be for good.

8 Responses to New office

  1. Charline says:

    I am not sure if that was suppose to be emotional or if I am just PMS’in but when you said “picutres down and next time it would be for good. I had tears going down my face…I know it could be looked at several ways – one retirement (happy tears) and two leaving your “second family behind” (sad tears), and I am sure you could point out even more of a break down!
    So I hope the new office is a postive and doesn’t turn out to be lonely by your self which knowing you it won’t. And the change opens new doors, not just closing the old door! So Congrats on the move and what a job moving grr….

  2. Sandra says:

    Char – the move is a good thing…..no way will I be lonely! 😀

  3. happychick says:

    Of course it’s a good thing!! Ah! I wish I had my own office! Life is sooo unfair! (besides, Sandra- you totally deserve it. and now you can leave it messy all the time- though I doubt that’ll happen with your Obsessive Compulsiveness. :p)

  4. Charline says:

    I am sure all your “lovely friends (Co-workers) and kids” will make sure you have as much company as you need. So enjoy..I figured it was the PMS that had me all over. LOL
    Damn I hate getting older…
    Love ya

  5. Sandra says:

    The boys helped me decorate….they were great!

  6. debe says:

    sounds like it was a supply closet? Where’d ya put all the stuff?
    Congratulations getting a space of your own after all these years!

  7. hellboy says:

    what a place!
    i think you’re moved, then it’stime for blogging!

  8. susan hobson says:

    you deserve an office to yourself!! wish you could have retired when you moved from the old one!….dont want you to leave but i want you to have peace in your life. you so deserve it!
    love susan

Leave a Reply

