Road Trip

Going to the mid-winter AA conference in Midland tomorrow.  Prolly gonna freeze my arse off, but if I make it there alive it will be good.

I lived in Midland 20 years ago.  It was shortly after the oil business went bust.  There were more vacant houses than occupied.  We lived in a house right across the street from the only operating pump jack in the city.  I worked in my very first treatment job.  A halfway house for recovering alcoholics. 

That is where my first and favorite sponsor lived.  She came to another city where I lived.  She was the speaker at a meeting.  She introduced herself as a daily drunk and a periodic marryier, and I knew this was someone I could relate to.  Sue is dead now, but I’m sure there are many people that I knew that are still alive and still in recovery.

See y’all next week.  😀

4 Responses to Road Trip

  1. debe says:

    I hope you get there (and back) safe and sound! Have fun, I love AA conferences.

  2. Charline says:

    I left a response last night but it doesn’t show. So let me try again. I know you will have a lot of fun meeting with old friends back home. And AA conferences are always so rewarding so you have a double winner. Enjoy every minute!!!! Memories are so special!

  3. susan hobson says:

    glad you got to go somewhere….anywhere!!!!!
    enjoy yourself…
    have lots of laughter….and hurry back to me!
    hugs. susan

  4. Sandra says:

    Made it home safe and sound…..learned lots. That is a new post.

Leave a Reply

