One day at a time

This little phase is most often heard in Alcoholics Anonymous.  We learn to take everything one day at a time.

AA did not teach me how to do this….cancer did.  When I realized that I might not see the next sun rise, I learned how to live each day to the fullest.

I am so grateful for learning how to do this so many years ago.  It has kept me going on my job for the last couple of months.  In my 42 years in the work force, I have never experience anything as bazaar as my current job situation.  No one knows from one day to the next when they are going to be fired.  Five people got the axe in Austin yesterday.  The highest officials of the agency are all gone.  There has been a take over by people who don’t have a clue what to do with kids.  Most work in the adult system.

Each day I go to work…..usually dreading it.  I go in, doing my best to give my best.  Hoping that something I say or do will make the difference in a kids life.  I take everyday as it comes, ask God to direct my thinking and try to stay focused on the kids, not the insanity.

I believe that I have a purpose, and that purpose was God given.  When I purpose is completed then I will be gone.  I suppose I have somewhat a fatalistic attitude about it, but it is the attitude that gets me through each day.

Tomorrow I will load up kids in the van and take them to play soccer.  Maybe for a couple of hours it will be the job it was last summer.  Maybe for that short period of time I can forget that everything is changing in not a good way.

7 Responses to One day at a time

  1. Charline says:

    My daer friend,
    I hear your pain or frustraton. I want to say remember nothing stays the same and this to shall pass and hopefully with “all good with the kids and the loyal workers in mind!” From what you share it sounds very sad! But like you say tomorrow you take the kids and have fun. And in the mean time it is just a mean time but if you continue to do the next right thing I am sure all will be ok. Also I want you to know I will keep you in my prayers, since Rick is going through a hard time too and I am affected by it also I sure can relate.
    Luv Ya, Charline

  2. Mr Angry says:

    Your mindset isn’t fatalistic -it’s realistic. I feel you use “one day at a time” in a positive way. Even people who don’t understand what they are doing or think they are doing something else are really only living one day at a time. Until we learn to travel through time, that’s what we’re stuck with.

  3. Larry says:

    You are intelligent, strong, morally stable, and all those other things necessary for one to have to endure all that you have endured. You have my undying respect and admiration. I’d probably be in a loony bin if I went through what you are going through. And besides all that, you’re beautiful to boot….and nice….and charming….and, and etc.

  4. Sandra says:

    Char – we had a great time at the soccer game – it was the best work day in 2 months 🙂

    Mr. Angry – wanna go time travelin with me?

    Larry – will you marry me??? 🙂 mmmmmmmm i forgot – you already are!

  5. happychick says:

    If you get fired, you can always come and live down under- we have plenty of messed-up kids, they’d benefit from you. 🙂

  6. Charline says:

    Glad to hear you had a great time. I know you don’t check your email much but I sent you one could you please look at it and get back with me.
    Thanks

  7. too gay to stay says:

    “One Day At A Time”
    The most useless thing to do … ……..Worry
    The greatest Joy……… ……… ….. ……..Giving
    The greatest loss…….. ……… Loss of self-respect
    The most satisfying work…….. ….. …Helping others
    The ugliest personality trait……. ……… ……Selfishnes s
    The most endangered species….. ……… …..Dedicated leaders
    The greatest “shot in the arm”…….. ……… .Encouragement
    The greatest problem to overcome…. ….. ….Fear
    Most effective sleeping pill…….. … …Peace of mind
    The most crippling failure disease….. ….Excuses
    The most powerful force in life…….. …… ……..Love
    The most dangerous pariah…… ……… ……… .A gossiper
    The world’s most incredible computer… …The brain !
    The worst thing to be without….. ……… …..Hope
    The deadliest weapon…. ……. The tongue…… .
    The two most power-filled words……. ……..” I Can”
    The greatest asset……. ……… …. …Faith
    The most worthless emotion….. ……… ..Self-pity
    The most prized possession.. ……… …..Integrity
    The most beautiful attire…… ……… . …A SMILE!
    The most contagious spirit…… …… …..Enthusiasm

Leave a Reply

