Mom

I went to Lubbock this weekend to visit my Mom.  It was, as usual, incredibly depressing.  She has reached the stage in her dementia where she doesn’t remember to swallow food.  Everything must be in puree form and followed by something to drink.  Liquids she swallows.  She has lost more weight this month.  Her nurses aid says she has deteriorated a lot this past month.  It is hard for me to accept that she has no idea who I am.  I combed her hair, gave her a manicure and put lotion on her dried up skin.  I fed her dinner on Sunday night and slurpee on Monday.  I made her an appointment for a hair cut and perm for today.  She does not seem at all unhappy.  I guess that is the most I can hope for, that somewhere in her mind, she is in a happy place.

3 Responses to Mom

  1. debe says:

    that much be so very hard to deal with

  2. The Bastard says:

    God bless her. I have such a love hate relationship with my grandmother. Yeah, yeah, insert some corny family “ha, ha” I love to hate her joke here. Seriously, if I knew that shit was coming for me, I’d go say hi to my .357. I’d tell you to tell her about my family, but she probably couldn’t process all of it. I ain’t poking fun Mom, so please don’t take it that way. It’s just fucking sad. I hate it for you, Ronnie and Elaine.

  3. Mom says:

    I know. It is so incredibly sad.

Leave a Reply

